Russia 2018: Gernot Rohr Release 30-Man Provisional World Cup Squad


Super Eagles Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr has released Nigeria’s provisional 30-man squad for the 2018 Wrold Cup in Russia.

Leading the contingent is team captain, John Mikel Obi and assistant captain Ogenyi Onazi, alongside Premier League quartet Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi and Victor Moses.

Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) top scorer and Kano Pillars striker, Junior Lokosa made the list after an impressive NPFL season which has seen him score 18 goals in 21 league appearances.

Notable omissions are on-loan Malaga striker, Brown Ideye, Al Ahly’s Junior Ajayi, Henry Onyekuru of Everton and Isreal based Anthony Nwakaeme.

Nigeria will battle Croatia in their opening Group D game before facing Iceland and Argentina respectively.

Full 30-Man Provisional List:

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi, Francis Uzoho, Dele Ajiboye.

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Ola Aina, Kenneth Omeruo, Brian Idowu, Chidozie Awaziem, Abdullahi Shehu, Elderson Echiejile, Tyrone Ebuehi, Stephen Eze.

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, John Ogu, Wilfred Ndidi, Uche Agbo, Oghenekaro Etebo, Joel Obi, Mikel Agu.

Forwards: Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa, Victor Moses, Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon, Junior Lokosa, Simeon Nwankwo.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here